Motorcycle Laws as of December 2004
Helmets Required Helmets
Colorado * Georgia
Illinois * Missouri
Iowa * Nevada
Hampshire * Tennessee
I won’t go into
all the specifics as there are too many variations. My list is for riders over
21 years of age.
Alaska's motorcycle helmet use law covers
passengers of all ages, operators younger than 18, and operators with
In Florida and Kentucky, the law requires that all riders
younger than 21 yrs. wear helmets, without exception. In Florida, those 21 yrs. and older may ride
without helmets only if they can show proof that they are covered by a medical
insurance policy. Texas exempts riders 21 yrs. or older if they either 1) can
show proof of successfully completing a motorcycle operator training and safety
course or 2) can show proof of having a medical insurance policy.
Motorcycle helmet laws in Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, and Wisconsin also cover operators with
instructional/learner's permits. Maine's motorcycle helmet use law also
covers passengers 14 years and younger and passengers if their operators are
required to wear a helmet.
North Dakota's motorcycle helmet use law covers
all passengers traveling with operators who are covered by the law.
Ohio's motorcycle helmet use law covers
all operators during the first year of licensure and all passengers of
operators who are covered by the law.
Rhode Island's motorcycle helmet use law covers
all operators during the first year of licensure and all passengers. Pennsylvania's motorcycle helmet use law covers
all operators during the first two years of licensure unless the operator has
completed the safety course approved by the department or the Motorcycle Safety
©1996-2005, Insurance Institute for
Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute | Copyright
and Use of Images Notice
Last modified: 08-Dec-2004